Capital punishment vs. abortion - Conservatives?

Started by Obummerstinks

Debate the issues that are the valued by conservatives in this political chat room. Try to stay on topic and respect your fellow conservatives. We all feel strongly about certain issues. Keep that in mind as you debate with your peers. Forum Rules

Next
29 replies to this topic Sticky this thread

Posted by Obummerstinks
  10,920 29 Dec 2013, 4:31 pm

Obummerstinks User avatar

Conservative Conservative political affiliation
Politics: Conservative
Money: 10,920.39

Some personal thoughts.

I abhor abortion in almost all cases. Mothers life, rape are about the only exceptions. Fairly in line with conservatism.

I am also against capital punishment, unless there's more than one direct eye witness or some clear video proof.

I used to be a pro capital punishment guy years ago, but as modern tools have become available and those imprisoned or killed have been cleared, my position on cap punishment weakened. As I've gotten older, my disgust in abortion has grown. I'm at a point now where I view them both as murder (with the exception of the couple of exclusions listed).

My question to my conservatives friends is, given that each is taking a life - how do you justify being for one and against the other - if that is your position.

Thoughts?
You cannot legislate the poor into prosperity by legislating the wealthy out of prosperity.

What one person receives without working for, another person must work for without receiving.

The government cannot give to anybody anything that the government does not first take from somebody else.

You cannot multiply wealth by dividing it

Hat_Creek's Photo
Posted by Hat_Creek
  1,292 29 Dec 2013, 5:12 pm

Hat_Creek      

Anarchist Anarchist political affiliation
Politics: Anarchist
Money: 1,291.94

I've thought about this off and on over the years as I was once a supporter of capital punishment.